SIR RICHARD TIMOTHY HUNT



Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine (2001)

Sir Richard Timothy Hunt is a renowned British biochemist and molecular physiologist, best known for his groundbreaking discoveries in cell cycle regulation. Awarded the 2001 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine alongside Paul Nurse and Leland H. Hartwell, Hunt's work helped uncover the role of protein molecules in controlling cell division.

ACADEMIC AND PROFESSIONAL CAREER

After earning his Ph.D. from the University of Cambridge in 1968, Hunt conducted research at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York before returning to Cambridge, where he taught from 1981 to 1990. In 1991, he joined the Imperial Cancer Research Fund (now Cancer Research UK) as a principal scientist. His pioneering research focused on cyclins, proteins that regulate the cell cycle. In 1982, using sea urchins, he was the first to isolate a cyclin and later demonstrated its critical role in activating cyclin-dependent kinases (CDKs), key enzymes in cell regulation. His findings provided vital insights into how cells grow and divide—contributing to our understanding of diseases like cancer.

Beyond his research, Hunt has been an influential voice in the scientific community. He serves on the Scientific Council of the European Research Council (ERC), the Advisory Council for the Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE), and the Selection Committee for the Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine. He has also contributed extensively to scientific literature and served on editorial boards of leading journals.

AWARDS AND HONORS

1978 Elected as a member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO).

Regarding his service to EMBO, Hunt served on various committees:

1990–1993 Member of the Fellowship Committee.

2004–2009 Member of the Council.

2008–2009 Member of the Meeting Committee.

1991 Elected Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS).

1993 Received the Abraham White Scientific Achievement Award from George Washington University.

1998 Elected Fellow of the UK's Academy of Medical Sciences (FMedSci).

1999 Elected Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences.

2001 Awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, shared with Leland Hartwell and Paul Nurse.

2003 Elected Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (HonFRSE).

2006 Awarded the Royal Society's Royal Medal.

2006 Knighted in the 2006 Birthday Honours for his services to science.